I stumbled upon this “recipe” when I started to make a batch of chocolate cupcakes for my Aunt’s birthday.  I thought I might make them from scratch but was slim on time so I grabbed a boxed mix from the pantry and got started. It seemed like the directions were different and the batter was really gooey but not until I checked the box for the baking time did I realized I had grabbed a Brownie Mix instead of a cake mix!  So, I did what any smart person would do.

  • Divide the batter into the cupcake paper lined tin, filling them about 1/3.
  • Mix up an actual chocolate cake mix or recipe of your choice. (I used Devil’s Food)
  • Pour it atop the brownie batter, bringing them to 3/4 full.  I think I made  at least 24 cupcakes with a few plain chocolate cupcakes since the cake mix yields more batter than the brownie mix)
  • Bake according to the cake mix directions BUT don’t bake it so long the brownie part gets overdone.  It will be gooey but not wet when you test with a toothpick.
  • Top with a dollop of this delicious Chocolate Buttercream Frosting 

You will want to make this one again and again!

 

